Jewish Calendar

Jewish Calendar or Hebrew Calendar is a "Luni-Solar" calendar. The calendar followed is a 12 month moon calendar, with an extra month added every few years to synchronise with the solar years. While the months are lunar months the years are solar years.

The months of Jewish Calendar consists of either 29 days or 30 days. The Jewish month begins on a new moon.

In Jewish Calendar, Names of the days in a week are called First Day, Second Day and so on till the sixth day. The seventh day of the week is called Shabbat.

The day in Jewish Calendar starts in the sunset. In Hebrew Calendar, Day hours are calculated by dividing the daylight duration of the day into 12 parts. Similarly night hours are calculated by dividing the night duration of the day into 12 parts.

Week in a Jewish Calendar

Day of the week Name of the day Name of the day(Hebrew) Equivalent day in Gregorian Calendar
1 First Day Yom Rishon Sunday
2 Second Day Yom Sheni Monday
3 Third Day Yom Sh'lishi Tuesday
4 Fourth Day Yom Revi'i Wednesday
5 Fifth Day Yom Chamishi Thursday
6 Sixth Day Yom Shishi Friday
7 Holy Shabbat Shabbat Kodesh Saturday

Name of the Jewish Month Gregorian Month Gregorian Equivalent Important Days
Nissan 30 March-April Passover
Iyar 29 April-May Revelation
Sivan 30 May-June
Tammuz 29 June-July
Av 30 July-August
Elul 29 August-September
Tishri 30 September-October Yom Teruah, Yom Kippur, Sukkot
Cheshvan 29/30 October-November
Kislev 29/30 November-December Chanukah
Tevet 29 December-January
Shevat 30 January-February Tu B'Shevat
Adar February-March 29(30 days during leap year) Purim

On a leap year an Adar I with 30 days is added followed by the Adar II with 29 days. © 2019