North Korea Opts For Own Time Zone

North Korea, the Country in East Asia has proposed a new time zone for itself from August 2015. The new time zone - "Pyongyang time" will be 30 minutes behind South Korea Time and Japanese Time.

Prior to this time zone change all South Korea, North Korea and Japan had the same time zone with an UTC offset of +9:00 hours.

The time zone change coincides with the 70th anniversary of Japan’s defeat in World War II upon which the Korean Korean Peninsula was freed from Japanese Rule.

The Chinese Time now will be just 30 minutes earlier than North Korea rather than the 1 hour. © 2019